Hugo Geiger Prize 2006

Fraunhofer IGB News /

The winners of the Hugo-Geiger-Prize 2006 at the Fraunhofer-annual conference in Bremen: Frauke Junghans (Fraunhofer IWM), Jan Hansmann (Fraunhofer IGB), Elena Lindemann (Fraunhofer IGB) and moderator Steffen Seibert (ZDF) (f.l.).

Researchers at the Fraunhofer IGB are investigating the production of artificial tissue. In his thesis "Development of a bioreactor for use in vascularized tissue engineering", Jan Hansmann made significant progress towards the creation of complex-structured artificial organs.

The third Hugo Geiger Prize was awarded to Elena Lindemann. During her research placement she developed a simple alternative method of gene expression analysis.